CIAC Announces 2021-2022 Michaels Cup Award Winners

The CIAC proudly announces a list of 21 Connecticut High Schools being honored with a 2021-2022 Michaels Achievement Cup Award. Schools that are part of the CIAC’s Class Act program can be considered for the Michaels Cup Award. The Michaels Cup Committee recognized these exemplary athletics programs for their willingness to subscribe to the Class Act Sportsmanship standards, empowering students to take an active role in their school climate, and their continued support for community service.  These 21 schools have made sportsmanship a priority in their district. They will be formally recognized during the CIAC’s 16h Annual Sportsmanship Conference on November 17.

The Michaels Cup was created in the early 1980s as the brainchild of Roy Michaels, the owner of Michaels Jewelers, in an effort to recognize outstanding athletics programs.

The 2021-2022 Michaels Cup Award winners:
Academy of Aerospace and Engineering, Academy of Computer Science and Engineering, Academy of International Studies, Academy of Science and Innovation, Bloomfield High School, Brookfield High School, Cheshire High School, Derby High School, Joel Barlow High School, Joseph A. Foran High School, Lyme-Old Lyme High School, Masuk High School, New Milford High School, Newtown High School, Oliver Wolcott Technical High School, Shelton High School, Simsbury High School, Stamford High School, Waterford High School, Westbrook High School, Weston High School

Bloomfield, Oliver Wolcott Tech, Simsbury and Westbrook share the distinction of being honored for their sportsmanship efforts for the sixth consecutive year. 

Brookfield and Cheshire are being recognized with a Michaels Cup Award for the 5th time in 6 years while Joel Barlow, Lyme-Old Lyme and Weston are being honored for the 4th consecutive year.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.