Boys Ice Hockey Committee Minutes – 3/22/16

March 22, 2016

Members present: Dave Harackiewicz, Ken Henrici, Tom Malin, Drew Pettola, Marty Roos, Bob Russel, Steve Trifone, Tom Neagle (Chair) and Joe Tonelli (CIAC staff)

Dr. Tom Neagle called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

Tom made some general comments about the excellent tournament and thanked the committee for their efforts in supervising many of the games. Tom also thanked George for the excellent job he did with the dedication ceremony in honor of “Bo” Hickey, the longtime coach of New Canaan. Bo was very appreciative of the honor that was bestowed on him by the ice hockey committee.

Although the only agenda item for today is usually to formulate the proposed divisions, Tom stated that as a result of the penalty reports submitted by Rob Melanson, we can review and update the status report and also handle some other routine business.

Minutes – On a motion by Dave Harackiewicz, the minutes of March 3, 2016 was approved.

Correspondence – Tom mentioned a letter of apology he received from Tony Jaskot, athletic director from Xavier High School, for the action of some of the players and an assistant coach, following their loss to Prep. in the quarter-final round. Tony assured us that their school is handling the matter.

Status report – With the assistance of the committee, Tom updated the status report which revealed the following facts: Trinity Catholic, Sheehan and Shepaug were removed from probation; Conard and Darien High School, with five counting penalties above a minor, were placed on probation for the 2016-17 season.

Letters of Commendation will be sent to the following schools for completing the season with zero counting penalties: Amity, BCR (Bolton/Coventry/Rham/Rockville), Branford, Fairfield Prep., E.O. Smith/Tolland/Windham, Greenwich, Guilford, Hamden, NFI (New Fairfield/Immaculate), Newtown, Sheehan, Shepaug/Litchfield/Nonnewaug, Simsbury, South Windsor, SWS (Staples/Weston/Shelton), St. Joseph, Tri-Town (Somers/Ellington/East Windsor), Watertown/Pomperaug and Wilton.

Of special note is that the Shepaug Co-op, Sheehan and St. Joseph had a significant number of counting penalties the previous year and this year they are receiving letters of commendation. Congrats to them and to all 19 schools that earned this distinction.

In the absence of George Hall due to knee surgery, Tom Neagle began the process by reviewing some data to help guide the committee in identifying teams in each division that are going to require closer scrutiny in the process of establishing the potential divisions for the 2016-17 season. Then the process of accessing the competitiveness of all teams was conducted, starting with Division I. After considerable discussion and unanimous consent, the potential divisions were approved. The potential division changes were as follows:

• The Fairfield Warde/Ludlowe co-op moved from Division II to Division I, and since no team was moved down, the number of potential teams in Division I has been increased from 16 to 17 teams;
• The NFI (New Fairfield/Immaculate) co-op moved from Division III to Division II;
• The SWS co-op (Staples/Weston/Shelton) and the Westhill / Stamford co-op moved from Division III to Division II, and since the Newington/Berlin co-op and Wilton moved from Division II to Division III, the potential number of Division II teams remains at 20.
• With the moves described above Division III goes from 20 teams to 19 teams in the potential divisions.

Joe Tonelli emailed all the schools that experienced a potential division change. These schools were made aware of the appeal deadline of Tuesday, April 5 and the appeal hearing on Tuesday, April 12, 2016.

In the absence of Sal Follo, due to illness, Marty mentioned that 100% of the schools participated in the Hobey Baker awards and these players were acknowledged in the online Ice Hockey tournament program. Also, plans have been finalized for the CHSCA All –Star game for both seniors and juniors.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

The next meeting of the ice hockey committee will be Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. Hopefully, all committee members can attend the appeal hearing and the wrap-up of the 2015-16 ice hockey season.


Sorry, comments are closed for this post.