Runners Ready For New England Championships

Runners Ready For New England Championships

Many of the top runners from the Connecticut State Cross Country Open will take part in the 79th New England Championships. MaxPreps photo by Geoffrey Bolte

The 79th annual New England High School Cross Country Championships will be run this Saturday, November 9th at Derryfield Park in Manchester, New Hampshire.  The event is sponsored by the Council of New England Secondary School Principals’ Association (CNESSPA).  The Girls race will begin at 11:30 am and the Boys race will follow at 12:30 pm over a challenging 5,000 meter course through open fields and woods.  The races will feature the top six teams and the top 25 runners from each of the 5 participating New England states (Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont).  New individual champions will be crowned as last year’s winners; Elle Purrier (Richford, VT) and Henry Wynne (Staples, CT) have both graduated.

Though six of the top seven finishers a year ago are not returning, the Girls competition has 16 of the 25 2012 All-New England runners in the field.  The top returner is Rhode Island Champion, sophomore Emma McMillan (Barrington), who placed 3rd in 2012 at Twin Brook Recreation Area in Cumberland, Maine.  Vermont Division I Champion Autumn Eastman (Champlain Valley), a junior, and Connecticut Open Champion, sophomore Hannah Debalsi (Staples) are highly rated and placed 8th and 11th, respectively, last year.  The lead pack should also include Maine Class B Champ Kirstin Sandreuter (Greely), Connecticut runner-up senior Claire Howlett (Westhill), and host state Meet of Champions winner, sophomore Maegan Doody (Oyster River).

The Boys competition appears wide open as only eight All-New England finishers from a year ago are in the field.  The top returner is Maine Class C Champ, senior Josef Holt-Andrews (Telstar), who finished fifth in 2012.  Connecticut Champion and Runner-up, seniors Christian Alvarado (Fairfield Prep) and Trevor Hopper (Ridgefield) were 9th and 11th, respectively, last year and had a photo finish at their State Open Championship last week.  Rhode Island Champion, senior Colin Tierney (Bishop Hendricken) and Maine Class B Champ, senior Dan Curts (Ellsworth) are among the returning top 25 from a year ago.  Other runners to watch are senior Sidi Abdoulaye (South Burlington) and junior Sam Nishi (Harwood Union) winners of the Vermont Division I and Division II races, respectively, along with Maine Class A Champ, senior Josh Horne (Mt. Blue).  From New Hampshire, Meet of Champions winner and runner-up, senior Jeremy Brassard (Coe-Brown) and junior Tim Fafard (Mascenic Regional), respectively, could challenge.

The top seven Girls teams return to compete for the New England title.  Defending Champion Barrington finished a mere three points behind La Salle Academy at last week’s Rhode Island Championship.  Coe-Brown (NH), Meet of Champions winner, and Champlain Valley Union (VT), the Division I champion, finished 2nd and 3rd, respectively, last year and figure to be in the title hunt.  Other teams to watch are Tolland and Glastonbury, the Champions and Runners-up at the Connecticut State Open.

In the Boys team competition, the top three teams are again in the field.  Bishop Hendricken won their 11th New England title last year and also won in 2011.  Trying to keep Bishop Hendricken from a three-peat will be runners-up in 2012, La Salle Academy, who finished just five points behind Bishop Hendricken last week at the Rhode Island Championship.  Souhegan, 3rd last year at the New England, qualified third at the Meet of Champions in New Hampshire to Oyster River and Pinkerton, respectively.  Other contenders are Vermont Division I Champions, South Burlington, and Connecticut State Open winners, Ridgefield.

The following are the Connecticut runners who will be competing:
Erin Van Der Els – Brien McMahon
Parker Timmerman – Brookfield
Dhahran Velazquez – Capital Prep
Russell Adam – Cheshire
Ryan Ansel – Danbury
Rohit Das – Danbury
Ryan Fox – Danbury
Mickey Kozak – Danbury
Corey Mullins – Danbury
Kyle O’Brien – Danbury
Zachary Stemple – Danbury
Colton Appleby – Darien
Brian Davey – Darien
Marshall Huffman – Darien
Peter Kreuch – Darien
Armstrong Noonan – Darien
Ben Olsen – Darien
Alex Ostberg – Darien
Christian Alvarado – Fairfield Prep
Aidan Fiol – Fairfield Warde
Matt Chisholm – Farmington
Palmer Weimann – Farmington
Randall Neish – Glastonbury
Michael McGonnigle – New Fairfield
Jonathan Davis – New Milford
Adam Dengler – New Milford
Zachary Guptill – New Milford
Gregory Hansell – New Milford
Jay Humphreys – New Milford
Hugh Sichel – New Milford
Lucas Simmonds – New Milford
Samuel Depalma – Pomperaug
Gabe Altopp – Ridgefield
Will Bordash – Ridgefield
Clint Corso – Ridgefield
Austin Gilbert – Ridgefield
Trevor Hopper – Ridgefield
Ethan Realander – Ridgefield
Kristian Sogaard – Ridgefield
Jake Berman – Staples
Luis Cruz – Staples
Peter Elkind – Staples
Chase Gornbein – Staples
Oliver Hickson – Staples
Daniel Landy – Staples
William McDonald – Staples
Patrick Begley – Suffield
Christopher Ahlquist – Hall
Devon Aldave – Hall
Zachary Feiner – Hall
Benjamin Gross – Hall
Ari Klau – Hall
Zachary Magin – Hall
Grant O’Connor – Hall
Spencer Brown – Wilton
John O’Hara – Xavier

Samantha Nyser – Bolton
Cyrene Nicholas – Branford
Olivia Bourquin – Conard
Margaret Byrne – Conard
Randa Griffin – Conard
Margaret Jamin – Conard
Elizabeth Lagoy – Conard
Alana Waggoner – Conard
Shea Williams – Conard
Anne Johnson – Darien
Anna Barnes – E.O. Smith
Alyssa Coulter – E.O. Smith
Rebecca Kaufman – E.O. Smith
Michaela Martin – E.O. Smith
Annika Morrison – E.O. Smith
Loren Ricci – E.O. Smith
McKenna Spaulding – E.O. Smith
Cate Allen – Fairfield Warde
Kristen Arborio – Glastonbury
Kathryn Hastings – Glastonbury
Kaitlyn Hebert – Glastonbury
Gaelyn Kattman – Glastonbury
Allison McArdle – Glastonbury
Kaylee Stebbins – Glastonbury
Sara Wilcox – Glastonbury
Alyssa Brehler – Griswold
Meagan Perez – Griswold
Madeleine Brandon – Haddam-Killingworth
Carly Schuyler – Immaculate
Kaleigh Roberts – Mercy
Gabrielle Richichi – New Fairfield
Chrissy Bendzinski – RHAM
Melissa Budicini – Ridgefield
Hannah Fleming – Ridgefield
Haley Greene – Ridgefield
Laura Hergenrother – Ridgefield
Hannah Mercorella – Ridgefield
Rachel Moore – Ridgefield
Julia Realander – Ridgefield
Liz Fengler – Sheehan
Sarah Mattison – Simsbury
Hannah Debalsi – Staples
Erica Hefnawy – Staples
Caroline Koenig – Staples
Erin Munley – Staples
Angelee Parmar – Staples
Tyler Scanlin – Staples
Katharine Smith – Staples
Courtney Akerley – Tolland
Melissa Caron – Tolland
Hayley Collins – Tolland
Katherine Deloreto – Tolland
Molly Kozlowski – Tolland
Megan Steinhilber – Tolland
Caitlin Swanson – Tolland
Claire Howlett – Westhill
Sarah Healy – Wilton
Mary Lynch – Wilton

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.